• Prof. Vito D’Andrea in the editorial introduces aims and scope of this new journal.
• Prof. Amilcare Parisi and Prof. Chang-Ming Huang highlight a new concept of scientific cooperation and the establishment of an International Gastric Cancer Unit (IGCU).
• Dr. Jacopo Desiderio shows the rationale of an innovative study on lymphadenectomy assisted by the fluorescence imaging technology during robotic gastrectomy. This study aims to validate the concept of Navigation Surgery.
• The International Study Group on Minimally Invasive Surgery for Gastric cancer (IMIGASTRIC Research Group) publishes a protocol for a prospective data collection with high methodological quality on minimally invasive and open gastrectomies.
• Among the other contents there are an update on the use of new technologies in gastric surgery and a technical note on reconstruction after laparoscopic gastrectomy.

Published: December 16, 2019

A protocol for cooperation to establish an International Gastric Cancer Unit (IGCU)

2-4 Amilcare Parisi, Chang-Ming Huang, Jian-Xian Lin, Jacopo Desiderio, Stefano Trastulli, Sergio Bracarda, Vito D'Andrea

Fluorescence image-guided lymphadenectomy using indocyanine green and near infrared technology during robotic gastrectomy: a prospective pilot study

IG-MIG Study

5-8 Jacopo Desiderio, Anna Mariniello, Stefano Trastulli, Amilcare Parisi, Vito D'Andrea

Prospective, observational, multicenter study on minimally invasive gastrectomy for gastric cancer: robotic, laparoscopic and open surgery compared on operative and follow-up outcomes - IMIGASTRIC II study protocol


9-15 Jacopo Desiderio, Jian-Xian Lin, Enrique Norero, Felice Borghi, Alessandra Marano, Fabio Cianchi, Benedetta Badii, Feng Qi, Tong Liu, Daniel Reim, Alexander Novotny, Andrea Coratti, Francesco Guerra, Ninh T Nguyen, Orhan Alimoglu, Ibrahim Ali Ozemir, Steven Brower, Francesca Bazzocchi, Andrea Avanzolini, Leonardo Solaini, Orestis Ioannidis, Christos Chatzakis, Lydia Loutzidou, Arda Isik, Maurizio Cesari, Graziano Pernazza, Juan-Santiago Azagra, Martine Goergen, Yanbing Zhou, Shougen Cao, Johan Gagnière, Denis Pezet, Simone D'Imporzano, Olivier Saint-Marc, Rémy Sindayigaya, Lu Zang, Natalie G Coburn, Cuneyt Kayaalp, Giacomo Arcuri, Francesco Giovanardi, Stefano Trastulli, Amilcare Parisi, Chao-Hui Zheng, Chang-Ming Huang